Gabs and Gio 24/7

Project 365- Week 5

Crafty- palooza! We are in full crafting mode these days making Valentines. I think I truly enjoy this art more than the kids. They see me do a project and want to try, so I let them make patterns too. It’s fun to see what everyone comes up with! 1.28.12

Took the kids out for breakfast on Saturday morning to a local dive. Thought it would be like the Food Network’s show about wicked good food at the local dive. I was wrong. However, Gabby is very into showing us how she can “snip” , oh, you mean, snap! Ha!

Gio has been wanting to make pom pom people forever, so I finally bought a kit when I saw all the items together in one make-it-yourself kit. Perfect. Kids came up with the pirate idea. Love it. 1.29.12

The kids enjoyed the sunny day and played in the backyard most of the day on Sunday. Here the fairies are looking over the backyard fence. 1.29.12

My intention for this blog was for it to be a place where I could do a 365 project of pictures. I feel more inspired on some days and really not on others. Today I made an effort to be mindful that pictures were needed for the day.

This is how I start every morning. With a cup o’ Joe. 1.30.12. Incredulous that almost one month of 2012 has already flown by.

Took both kids to school this morning to drop Gio off since John has jury duty.

Gabby will go to Gio’s school for kindergarten in the Fall. Not too sure how I’ll handle that first day of school all over again. Dreading it already.

Gio and a friend scout out the playground this morning. Gio was on time for school for once. We usually get there as the bell is ringing and the children are walking into class. He actually got to play first this morning.

Gabby had a playdate with her BFF after school today. The kids jumped on the trampoline in her friend’s backyard, in their dress up clothes.

I see you, Buster. 4 PM coffee break. Ready to go to the gym. I wonder if I’ll only use my iPhone and apps for pictures this week. Maybe.

Making Valentine suncatchers for the sliding door. Too bad the sun was hiding most of today. 1.31.12

We made buns today! Gabby makes buns at one of her preschools that she attends, and really wanted to make some at home. I got out the bread book, scanned for an easy recipe, gave up and googled “quick, easy buns” and got an easy recipe. It was quick and easy and yummy too. We will try whole wheat flour next time. 2.1.12

The dough is mixed in the KitchenAid mixer using the dough hook. I’ve used that attachment maybe once or twice in the past 5 years!

Gabby pulls the dough apart to make buns.

More kneading and patting of dough.

Ready for the oven.

Hot Buns!

Mmmmm.

It was a beautiful day so we decided to go play at Fairytale town after school. 2.2.12

As usual as of late, I ended the week volunteering in Gio’s classroom for Wacky Friday (his teacher’s name for fun Fridays when they do an hour of art projects).  I also took my monthly pics of the class for the on-going monthly wall art project the kids do.  Today we made Valentine kitties (my task), giant painted hearts, and the kids measured how tall they are and made an art project depicting this titled “Guess how much I love you”.   Love love love art days in Room 12!  2.3.12

Ms. Dargen was in creative overdrive…she asked each child in her class to draw themselves on a paperdoll chain.  So cute.

Gio, of course drew himself in camouflage.

Is this cute or what?!

Taking the paper doll idea one step further, she had each 1st grader draw a tiny paperdoll of themselves to paste onto a giant thank  you card to the principal.

The other art projects…

Finally, the monthly mug shots.

This entry was published on January 30, 2012 at 3:30 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a comment